Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Federal Bonding Program

New York State proudly supports the Federal Bonding Program, a US Department of Labor initiative since 1966.

The Federal Bonding Program (FBP) was created as a hiring incentive for job seekers with employment challenges. The FBP provides no-cost fidelity bonding for six months to businesses that hire hard-to-place job seekers. The benefits of the FBP are promoted to businesses and job seekers at all New York State Career Centers. For more information about the FBP, contact Central Office bonding staff at SpecialPopulations@labor.ny.gov, or any of the local bonding coordinators listed below.

NYSDOL Documents:

Local Bonding Coordinators

Location Bonding Coordinator Address Contact Information
Albany Jay Mattoon Career Central
175 Central Avenue
Albany, NY 12206
(518) 462-7600 ext. 208
Jay.Mattoon@labor.ny.gov
Albion Kelly McDonald Orleans Center for Workforce Development
458 West Avenue, Suite 3
Albion, NY 14411
(585) 589-5335 ext. 123
Kelly.McDonald@labor.ny.gov
Amsterdam Darlene Slater NYS Department of Labor
795 E Main Street, Suite 4
Cobleskill, NY 12043
(518) 234-4254 ext. 2005
Darlene.Slater@labor.ny.gov
Auburn Kimberly Healy Cayuga Works Career Center
199 Franklin Street, Suite 204
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 255-4911
Kimberly.Healy@labor.ny.gov
Ballston Spa Polly Monahan Saratoga County Employment & Training
152 West High Street
Ballston Spa, NY 12020
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Batavia Amy Riter Genesee County Career Center
587 East Main Street, Suite 100 (Eastown Plaza)
Batavia, NY 14020
(585) 344-2042 ext. 4265
Amy.Riter@labor.ny.gov
Binghamton Jennifer Slade Broome-Tioga Workforce New York
171 Front Street
Binghamton, NY 13905
(607) 778-3955
Jennifer.Slade@labor.ny.gov
Bronx Vanessa Johnson-Booker Workforce1 Career Center
400 E. Fordham Road (8th Floor)
Bronx, NY 10458
(718) 960-7942
Vanessa.Johnson-Booker@labor.ny.gov
Brooklyn Lisa Badillo Brooklyn Workforce1 Career Center
9 Bond Street (5th Floor)
Brooklyn, NY 11201
And
MetroTech Workforce1 Career Center
250 Schermerhorn Street Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 613-3778
Lisa.Badillo@labor.ny.gov
Buffalo Phyllis Damico Buffalo Career Center
284 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
And
Buffalo Employment & Training Center
77 Goodell Street Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 851-2680
Phyllis.Damico@labor.ny.gov
Canton Reggie Hooper St. Lawrence Career Center
80 State Highway 310 (Suite 8)
Canton, NY 13617-1498
(315) 229-3372
Reggie.Hooper@labor.ny.gov
Carmel Marisabel Richman Westchester/Putnam Career Center
110 Old Route 6 (Building 3)
Carmel, NY 10512
(845) 808-1651 ext. 46601
Marisabel.Richman@labor.ny.gov
Cobleskill Darlene Slater NYS Department of Labor
795 E Main Street, Suite 4
Cobleskill, NY 12043
(518) 234-4254 ext. 2005
Darlene.Slater@labor.ny.gov
Corning Gregory Nagle CSS Workforce NY
20 Denison Parkway West, Suite 102
Corning, NY 14830
(607) 937-8337 ext. 1111
Gregory.Nagle@labor.ny.gov
Cortland Mary Wright Cortland Works Career Center
99 Main Street
Cortland, NY 13045
(607) 756-7585 Ext. 3223
Mary.Wright@labor.ny.gov
Dunkirk Vicki Cocca Chautauqua Works
407 Central Avenue
Dunkirk, NY 14048
(716) 366-9015 ext. 1233
Vicki.Cocca@labor.ny.gov
Elmira Julia Murphy CSC Workforce NY, Elmira Career Center
318 Maidson Avenue
Elmira, NY 14901
(607) 733-7131 ext. 2120
Julia.Murphy@labor.ny.gov
Flushing Maritza Zarzuela Flushing Workforce1 Career Center
138-60 Barclay Avenue (2nd Floor)
Flushing, NY 11355
(718) 321-6309 )
Maritza.Zarzuela@labor.ny.gov
Fort Edward Polly Monahan Career Center of Washington County
383 Broadway
Fort Edward, NY 12828
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Fulton Mary Battista Oswego Workforce New York
200 N. 2nd Street
Fulton, NY 13069
(315) 591-9305
Mary.Battista@labor.ny.gov
Geneseo David Carman Livingston County Office of Workforce Development
6 Court Street (Room 105)
Geneseo, NY 14454
(585) 266-7760
David.Carman@labor.ny.gov
Geneva Mindy Laursen Finger Lakes Works-Geneva
70 Elizabeth Blackwell Street
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 789-1771 ext. 105
Mindy.Laursen@labor.ny.gov
Harlem Jamalya Harley NYC Workforce1 Career Center
215 Eest 125th Street, 6th Floor
Between 7th & 8th Aveneues
New York, NY 10027
(917) 493-7238 ext. 114
Jamalya.Harley@labor.ny.gov
Hauppauge Timothy Boerum Suffolk County Employment Center
725 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788
(631) 853-6572
Timothy.Boerum@labor.ny.gov
Hempstead Patrick Bruno Hempstead Works Career Center
Hempstead Executive Plaza
50 Clinton Street (Suite 110)
Hempstead, NY 11550
(516) 485-5000 ext.1192
Patrick.Bruno@labor.ny.gov
Herkimer Ryan LeoGrande Working Solutions Career Center
320 N. Prospect Street
Herkimer, NY 13350
(315) 867-1458
Ryan.LeoGrande@labor.ny.gov
Hicksville James Ramirez Hicksville Career Center
301 West Old Country Road
Hicksville, NY 11801
(516) 934-8539
James.Ramirez@labor.ny.gov
Hornell Lisa Klem CSC Workforce NY, Hornell Career Center
107 Broadway
Hornell, NY 14843
(607) 324-8388
Lisa.Klem@labor.ny.gov
Hudson Frances Abea Columbia Greene Community College
4400 Route 23
Hudson, NY 12534
(518) 828-4654 ext. 4206
Frances.Abea@labor.ny.gov
Ithaca Ramona Emery or
Jacquelyn Benedict
Tompkins Workforce New York Career Center
Center Ithaca (Suite 241)
171 East State Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 272-7570 ext. 126 (Emery)
(607) 272-7570 ext. 125 (Benedict) Ramona.Emery@labor.ny.gov
Jacquelyn.Benedict@labor.ny.gov
Jamaica Mohammad Abdullah Queens Career Center
168-25 Jamaica Avenue – 2nd floor
Jamaica, NY 11432
(718) 557-6715
Mohammad.Abdullah@labor.ny.gov
Jamestown Judy Mohney Jamestown Career Center
23 E. 3rd Street
Jamestown, NY 14701
(716) 661-9553 ext. 1217
Judy.Mohney@labor.ny.gov
Kingston Patricia LaSpina Ulster County Career Center
601 Development Court, Ulster Avenue
Kingston, NY 12401
(845) 338-4696 ext. 3017
Patricia.LaSpina@labor.ny.gov
Lockport Michael Ministero Lockport WorkSourceOne Center
272 South Transit Street
Lockport, NY 14094
(716) 280-6188
Michael.Ministero@labor.ny.gov
Lyons Scott Sigel Finger Lakes Works Career Center
1519 Nye Road (Suite 601)
Lyons, NY 14489
(315) 946-7268
Scott.Sigel@labor.ny.gov
Malone Jessica Bennett Malone OneWorkSource Center
158 Finney Boulevard
Malone, NY 12953
(518) 481-5755 ext. 3006
Jessica.Bennett@labor.ny.gov
Massena Michael Doyle Massena New York State Department of Labor
35 Glenn Street
Massena, NY 13662
(315) 769-3596 ext. 112
Michael.Doyle@labor.ny.gov
Middletown Genevieve Curio Orange Works Career Center
33 Fulton St. (Fulton Plaza, 2nd Floor)
Middletown, NY 10940
(845) 346-1302
Genevieve.Curio@labor.ny.gov
Monticello Robert Mares Sullivan Works Career Center
50 North Street
Monticello, NY 12701
(845) 794-3341 ext. 0630
Robert.Mares@labor.ny.gov
Mount Vernon Michael Lamm Mt. Vernon Employment Center
100 East First St.
Mt. Vernon, NY 10550
(914) 813-6153 ext. 0630
Michael.Lamm@labor.ny.gov
Newburgh Laura Hashim Orange Works Career Center
The Maple Building
3 Washington Center (4th Floor) Newburgh, NY 12550
(845) 568-5392
Laura.Hashim@labor.ny.gov
Niagara Falls Jennifer Jackson Trott ACCESS Center, New York State Department of Labor
1001 11th Street
Niagara Falls, NY 14301
(716) 278-8271
Jennifer.Jackson@labor.ny.gov
Norwich Susan Carimando-Sheldon CDO Workforce
Ohara Drive
Norwich, NY 13815
(607) 334-2201 ext. 103
Susan.Carimando-Sheldon@labor.ny.gov
Ogdensburg Reggie Hooper St. Lawrence Career Center
1020 Park Street
Ogdensburg, NY 13669
(315) 393-4600 ext. 109
Reggie.Hooper@labor.ny.gov
Olean Christopher Kokoszka Cattaraugus Career Center
175 North Union Street (Suite 4)
Olean, NY 14760
(716) 373-1880 ext. 246
Christopher.Kokoszka@labor.ny.gov
Oneida Stephanie Madia Working Solutions Career Center
1006 Oneida Plaza Drive
Oneida, NY 13421
(315) 363-2400
Stephanie.Madia@labor.ny.gov
Oneonta Susan Carimando-Sheldon CDO Workforce Center
12 Dietz Street
Oneonta, NY 13820
(607) 432-4800 ext. 117
Susan.Carimando-Sheldon@labor.ny.gov
Owego Jennifer Slade Tioga Employment Center
1062 State Route 38, PO Box 108
Owego, NY 13827
(607) 778-3955
Jennifer.Slade@labor.ny.gov
Patchogue Gary Gualberti
Or, Dolores Mckinnon
NYS Department of Labor
160 South Ocean Avenue
Patchogue, NY 11772
(631) 687-4876 (Gualberti)
(631) 687-4815 (McKinnon)
Gary.Gualberti@labor.ny.gov
Dolores.McKinnon@labor.ny.gov
Peekskill Madelene Knaggs Peekskill Employment Center
201 James Street
Peekskill, NY 10566
(914) 737-3490 ext. 318
Madelene.Knaggs@labor.ny.gov
Plattsburgh Brent Silver One WorkSource
194 US Oval
Plattsburgh, NY 12903
(518) 561-0430 ext. 3047
Brent.Silver@labor.ny.gov
Poughkeepsie Cristina Casey Dutchess Career Center
191 Main Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 249-4618
Cristina.Casey@labor.ny.gov
Queensbury Polly Monahan Career Center of Warren County
Northway Plaza
Queensbury, NY 12804
(518) 824-8891
Polly.Monahan@labor.ny.gov
Rochester John Stracuzzi Rochester Works! Career Center
255 North Goodman Street
Rochester, NY 14607
And
Rochester Works! Career Center
276 Waring Road
Rochester, NY 14609
(585) 266-7760 ext. 210
John.Stracuzzi@labor.ny.gov
Rome Ryan Lynch Rome Working Solutions
300 West Dominick Street (Suite 1)
Rome, NY 13440
(315) 356-0662
Ryan.Lynch@labor.ny.gov
Schenectady Jay Mattoon Schenectady Job Training Agency
797 Broadway
Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 344-2795
Jay.Mattoon@labor.ny.gov
Spring Valley Joanne Sena Tomorrow's Workplace
OnePerlman Drive
Spring Valley, NY 10977
(845) 356-6323
Joanne.Sena@labor.ny.gov
Staten Island Altagrace Cange Staten Island Workforce1 Career Center
120 Stuvyesant Plaza (3rd Floor)
Staten Island, NY 10301
(718) 285-8478
Altagrace.Cange@labor.ny.gov
Syracuse Marie Christopher CNY Works
960 James Street
Syracuse, NY 13203
(315) 477-6973
Marie.Christopher@labor.ny.gov
Syracuse Mike Atkins NYS Department of Labor
450 South Salina Street
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 479-3290
Michael.Atkins@labor.ny.gov
Troy Malee Lennon Rensselaer County Career Center
1600 7th Avenue, 4th Floor
Troy, NY 12180
(518) 270-2882
Malee.Lennon@labor.ny.gov
Utica Robert Ichihana Working Solutions Career Center
NY State Office Building - Suite 202
207 Genesee Street, 2nd Floor
Utica, NY 13501
(315) 793-5392
Robert.Ichihana@labor.ny.gov
Warsaw Bill Elsasser Warsaw Career Center
448 North Main Street
Warsaw, NY 14569
(585) 786-3145
William.Elsasser@labor.ny.gov
Watertown Tammy Antonucci The Work Place
1000 Coffeen Street
Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 786-3668
Tammy.Antonucci@labor.ny.gov
White Plains Gloria Feuerstein Westchester County Emplyoment Center
120 Bloomingdale Road
White Plains, NY 10605
(914) 995-4992
Gloria.Feuerstein@labor.ny.gov
Williamsville Dawn Petko Williamsville Career Center
4175 Transit Road
Williamsville, NY 14221
(716) 634-9081 ext. 236
Dawn.Petko@labor.ny.gov
Yonkers Gwen Rice Yonkers Employment Center
20 South Broadway, 12th Floor
Yonkers, NY 10701
(914) 965-9500 ext. 249
Gwendolyn.Rice@labor.ny.gov

Questions and Answers

  • What is the New York State Federal Bonding Program?

    It is a unique tool established to help a “high risk” job applicant get and keep a job. The program issues Fidelity Bonds and is federally sponsored by USDOL.

  • What is a fidelity bond?

    It is a business insurance policy that protects a business against any loss of money or property in the workplace due to an act of employee dishonesty. It essentially provides an insured guarantee that the individual hired will be an honest worker. The fidelity bonds issued under the FBP are insurance policies from the Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America. We purchase bond packages from their agent (The McLaughlin Company) to assist job seekers who have barriers to finding and maintaining employment.

  • How does the bond help someone get a job?

    The bond is issued to the business at no cost for six months. It serves as an incentive to hire an applicant who has an employment risk factor in his or her background, such as poor credit or lack of a work history. Businesses are able to hire employees they need without the risk of worker dishonesty.

  • What exactly does the bond insurance cover?

    It insures businesses for any type of stealing (such as theft, forgery, larceny or embezzlement). It does not cover liability due to poor workmanship, job injuries or work accidents. It is not a bail bond or court bond for the legal system. It is not a contract bond, performance bond or license bond (sometimes needed to be self-employed).

  • What restrictions exist in the program's bond coverage?

    The worker must meet the legal age for working in New York State. Employers must pay wages to the worker, with federal taxes automatically deducted from pay. The job must have the potential to last at least six months. Because the FBP is a hiring incentive, it does not cover self-employed persons.

  • Who does the program help?

    It provides bonding coverage to a business that hires a person whose background may cause the business to question his or her honesty, which may lead to an adverse hiring decision such as refusal to hire or termination of employment. The program covers job seekers with certain risk factors, including:

    • Any felony or misdemeanor criminal conviction
    • Recovery from substance abuse (persons rehabilitated through treatment for alcohol and/or drug abuse)
    • Poor credit record or declaration of bankruptcy
    • Dishonorable discharge from the military
    • Lack of work history
    • Current or past participation in any State or local-operated summer or year-round youth program
  • Can bonding be issued to cover an already employed worker?

    The FBP is primarily designed to be a hiring incentive for new hires. However, bonds can be issued to cover an incumbent worker who is not currently bondable in their place of employment. Additionally, FBP coverage may be needed to secure a transfer or promotion to a new job or to prevent layoff or termination.

  • Since businesses buy fidelity bond insurance to protect against employee dishonesty, why is the program's bond needed?

    Fidelity bonds that are available for businesses to purchase typically do not cover anyone who has a poor credit history or who has already committed a fraudulent or dishonest act. Job applicants with criminal records and/or other background issues are designated by the insurance industry as "not bondable". Only the FBP will issue bonds that cover anyone who is usually not bondable. As a result, bonding as a barrier to hiring is eliminated.

  • How long does the program's fidelity bond coverage last?

    Bonding coverage is issued at no cost to businesses or job seekers for six months. After the first six months, bonding coverage will automatically expire unless it is renewed.
    If no claim for employee dishonesty is submitted during the initial six months of FBP coverage, continued bond coverage can be purchased by the business at a reduced rate through the Federal Bonding Program. In some cases, businesses may qualify to receive an additional no-cost renewal bond for another six months, for a total of up to 12 months of no-cost bonding coverage.

  • Can bonding be issued for a worker assigned to a part-time job or a temporary job?

    Yes. Part-time employment and temporary work of six months or more can be bonded.

  • Is a person collecting public assistance automatically eligible under the FBP?

    Yes. The FBP does provide bonding coverage to businesses that hire individuals who are collecting any type of public assistance.

  • Who must request issuance of the fidelity bond?

    Bond issuance can be requested by either the business or the job applicant. To apply, contact the nearest Local Bonding Coordinator from the list above.

  • Can the bond be issued at any time?

    No. There must be a job offer with a start date before a bond can be issued. The bonding coverage will start on the job start date and will automatically expire six months from that date (unless it is renewed).

  • What amout of bonding coverage can be issued?

    Up to $25,000 in bonding coverage can be provided, in increments of $5,000. There is no liability deductable for the business. Bonds are automatically set to $5,000. Bonding coverage amounts greater than $5,000 must be approved by NYSDOL.

  • What paperwork is the business required to complete?

    None. Once the date is set for the applicant to start work, the bond can be issued instantly. The business is not required to complete any paperwork or maintain any records on file, and the bond is self-terminating. The bond is mailed directly to the business by The McLaughlin Company (as the agent for Travelers).

  • How can a business or job seeker start the bonding process?

    Contact the nearest Local Bonding Coordinator from the list above.

  • What is the contact information for the state bonding coordinator?

    State Bonding Coordinator
    New York State Department of Labor
    State Office Campus
    Building 12, Room 440
    Albany, NY 12240
    Email: SpecialPopulations@labor.ny.gov

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.